Slapdash

July 2, 2010

Murder, She Wrote

Filed under: Uncategorized — Chantelle @ 10:54 pm

I probably shouldn’t be writing about this. I mean, the police didn’t tell me not to say anything, but it feels like I could… I dunno, be affecting the investigation or something. But I can’t help it. I’ve tried to tell people in pieces, tell them what happened, but people get tired of my dithering and I find myself apologizing for it.

I’m going to start at the beginning.

It has been a long time since I’ve felt safe in my apartment. I’ve known since shortly after I moved in that my neighbors were… well, lets just say that they had a lot of visitors at all hours of the day and night. But I’ve never really had any problems with them. I’ve been living there for almost two years now.

In the first week of December, I woke up to a shout. “Fuck that!” The sound is engraved into my head. Seconds after that shout I heard the first crash. Glass breaking. Our neighbours window. I started to panic. A fraction of a second later, the window exploded above our heads. I don’t remember moving. But the next thing I knew, I was shrieking at the end of the bed, and Gilles was slowly sitting up, groggily trying to calm me down. There was glass everywhere.

As soon as I calmed down enough to regain my mind, I told Gilles to call 9-1-1. I was still in too strong of hysterics to do so myself.

I went out into the hallway, dressed only in my pjs, and found several of my neighbours there. The cops made it to the apartment in less than two hours. An hour later, I found out that they had caught the guy. This event, traumatic to me, was the result of a temper tantrum on his part.

Since then, I have had a hard time sleeping there. I didn’t sleep through the night for months, waking up of nightmares. I had Christmas lights up over the window at the time, blue ones. I still haven’t taken them down. Every night I turn them on; they have become my safety blanket.

The first time that I had to sleep there by myself was awful. I spent most of the night awake, walking from window to window and back again, checking to make sure no one wanted to hurt me. When I finally did fall asleep, it was with every light in the apartment on, and hugging a baseball bat.

By the end of February, the nightmares were starting to go away. Instead of every night, I was only waking up 3 or 4 times / week.

Then, we went on a trip to the farm.

We left the city late – it must have been 10pm already when we left. I can’t remember why it was so late.

I was sleeping in the car, Gilles was driving.

Shortly after we drove through Chamberlain, Gilles woke me up. We were stopped. There was a car on the rest stop in front of us, engulfed in fire.

So, we called 9-1-1. We sat there and watched the car burn for an hour and a half before the fire truck go there. It was a volunteer team, from a town an hour away. By the time they got there, there was nothing left but the frame. The paint had even burnt off.

After that happened, my nightmares came back full-force, except this time they were breaking the windows on my car before coming to rob / hurt us. Go figure.

On Wednesday, I found my neighbour sitting on the front steps inside of the apartment building. He was in rough shape. It looked like he had been living on the street for awhile, and that someone had given him a good beating. I asked him if he was okay and if there was anything I could do to help. His response was tell me to go to my apartment and leave him alone. He thanked me when I finally agreed.

Today, when I was leaving the apartment to go home there was a bunch of police officers in the building. I asked them if everything was ok, they said no. They told me that Fred was dead, and asked me when the last time that I saw him was. I told them.

I asked them if it was a natural death, they said that they couldn’t tell me.

I’m glad I don’t have to stay there this weekend.

6 Comments »

  1. You have to remember, as I keep telling you, that if you ever feel that you are unsafe (esp. when your guy goes back to school) I am always here for you. Besides, who’s going to use the brand new bed that we got in our spare room, huh? It looks comfy…. and there’s tons of blankets and pillows to use as well and Kella to keep you company if I’m at work.

    I wish I could give you advise about the whole stitch but you understand where I work and how I can’t say a thing… as much I loathe this job some days/nights, it pays my stupid rent and stupid bills…

    Big hugs!!!!

    Comment by crowseer — July 7, 2010 @ 10:40 am | Reply

    • I’ll use that bed yet, don’t worry.

      If I had been planning to stay in the city last weekend you can guarantee I would have been practically knocking down your front door.

      I do want to talk to you sometime though, grab a coffee and have a good talk woman to woman. Let me know when you’re free.

      Comment by spydermunky — July 7, 2010 @ 2:55 pm | Reply

  2. Gosh, my first instinct is to say what most people would say, having heard that story. MOVE. Get out of that building. Do not pass go. Do not collect $200. Find somewhere to live with better energy…

    …but then I remember that I am not most people, and believe that we are manifestors. What you resist, persists. So, perhaps staying in your home instead of running from it, is a healthy choice. As long as you can find the peace inside the chaos.

    And it does sound like a bit o’ chaos.

    I send you safe thoughts and windows that bring you light, not fear…

    Comment by KJ — July 5, 2010 @ 1:35 am | Reply

    • Thanks KJ. It surprises me how much your comment means to me.

      I will continue to live in the apartment for a couple of months yet. Although my reason for waiting is purely financial, I think it will help me too. By staying there a while longer, I think that it will help me conquer my imagination and in turn, nightmares, etc.

      However, in addition to the problems listed above, we have had problems with our landlord (not fixing stuff, blaming us for circumstances completely out of our control, etc. etc.) so when moving can be considered a responsible choice financially and mentally we will move. Until then, feel free to keep sending safe thoughts! 😛

      Comment by spydermunky — July 5, 2010 @ 10:34 am | Reply

      • Now, I’m just curious…

        If you were going to rent somewhere else and the world was your oyster – what area would you rent in? how much space would you be looking for? what would be the ideal price point for the rent?

        Just thought I would ask a Saskatoon renter straight out as Leon and I just had a conversation about investing in a condo there S’toon and renting it out…

        Comment by KJ — July 7, 2010 @ 5:06 pm | Reply

        • Hmm. I’m assuming that by “the world is your oyster” you mean Saskatoon then.

          Well, as we’ve had plenty of time to think about it and plenty of complaints about this apartment, Gilles and I have decided on some very specific characteristics in what we will be looking for.

          First in terms of area — There are lots of nice areas in the city, so that isn’t as much of a concern as the characteristics of the area. We’ll be looking for an area that is purely residential rather than close to one of the main drags or shopping centres, as those areas have a tendency to attract more crime. Ideally the other homes or condos in the area would be families (young or mature). We are hoping to find an area without a lot of young singles, as that tends to attract noise, vandalism, etc. (Although I may be prejudiced in this regard).

          Second in terms of space, because we both have large families and have a lot of guests over, we would like to find a place with at least two bedrooms. Three would be ideal – the third being smaller so that it could be used more often as an office but have space for a single bed or futon for company. We will be looking for a non-apartment-style (personal entrance) condo, a townhouse, or a small house to rent as a result.

          Third, in terms of price point we are looking to spend approximately $1000-1300/month for rent. I think that this is enough that we would be able to rent out a well-maintained property in a good neighbourhood, while still being able to put away a little bit of money for the future.

          Other factors that we are looking for that you didn’t mention, are that we would like to have a dishwasher. A place that allows pets would be ideal, as I would love to have a cat. Some wishful thinking is that we would also like to have a carpet in the bedroom, so that the bed doesn’t roll away every time we sit on it. 🙂

          Saskatoon is definitely a good city to invest in, if that is what you are interested in doing. I have never seen the city growing so fast, which can only mean an increasing demand for housing in a market where demand already exceeds supply.

          I hope that this helps?

          Comment by spydermunky — July 7, 2010 @ 7:23 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

