Slapdash

July 9, 2010

Metaphysical Hangover

Filed under: Change — Chantelle @ 9:00 am

Hungover… if you can call it that. Is there such thing as an excitement hangover? Even if it didn’t include alcohol, or drugs, or sugar? (Or anything else you can get hungover from?) Perhaps this would be better described as a metaphysical hangover.

See, yesterday was huge. Yesterday I went from “Grrr I have to find a job for September but all I can find are these piddly little jobs that I’m overqualified for and thus no one wants to interview me” to “OMG OMG OMG”.

Pique your attention?

See, they’ve decided to extend my contract where I am currently working. Instead of expiring at the end of August, my contract will now expire at the end of April. Another eight months. Did I mention that I have the best job ever? (Okay, the best job ever in my field with decent pay :P) My boss announced this to me before she left work for the day, leaving me bouncing around like a rabbit on steroids for an hour before it was time for me to go home. (Don’t ask me where that analogy came from, I have no idea)

Anyway, my boss definitely got to see some of that excitement too: “I’m going to bring a plant in, ‘cuz at the beginning of the summer I wanted to bring a plant in but didn’t, ‘cuz I figured it would only be here for four months and then die ‘cuz there’s like, no light in my apartment, and I’m gonna bring pictures, ‘cuz when my mom came to visit she was sad that I had no pictures of her on my desk, and I think that it is a good thing to have pictures of your family on your desk but I was only gonna be here for four months so I didn’t bring any, and…” Yeah. She laughed in response, and told me that I was funny. Soo… maybe I was a little hyper.

This excitement only increased when I got home. I texted Gilles while I was at work, telling him I had something really, really exciting to tell him but that I didn’t want to tell him ’til I got home. Of course, he guessed it right away. I also texted Elsie, saying “The best thing in the world just happened to me.” Her response (and I should have thought of that) was “You got engaged?!” …. So… I guess getting to keep my job longer is the second best thing in the world that could have happened to me.

Anyway, while all this is going on, there is another thought poking at the side of my brain. Everything happens for a reason. It’s time to move.

So, last night I scanned the newspapers and Kijiji looking for places that would be suitable. I then printed them off, and stacked them neatly on the tv tray in the living room (yeah, we’re classy). Now all I have to do is wait for Gilles to look through them and decide which of the ones I think would be suitable, he thinks would be suitable. Once he has done that, I will start making appointments to see places.

Oddly enough, last night a thought came to me. All this time I’ve been thinking that we have to move in September, because we have to give a month’s notice on the apartment. But what if we can give up the damage deposit, and in doing so leave at the end of July? I will have to look into that, because otherwise September will equal: first and last months rent on new place, tuition, and Gilles (possibly) not have been working for a month. So… moving on the first of August would be most feasible, from a financial deposit.

Now, let’s see if I can swing it!

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

