Slapdash

September 14, 2010

How busy is too busy?

Filed under: Life's Like That — Chantelle @ 8:33 am

I started my second night class last night… it will be another heavy one.

This caused me to start wondering, how busy is too busy?

Are you okay as long as you get some semblance of sleep and maintain your sanity? Or are you too busy the second you start to lose sleep for the sake of ‘getting things done’?

Is too busy the point at which you give up your social life in order to get “the more important things” done?

I’m working full time, plus. That’s a minimum of 40 hours in the office a week; realistically I spend 45 hours/week (including unpaid lunch breaks), plus an hour each day of commute time. So that brings me to 50 hours taken up.

They say that a minimum of five hours must be spent for each hour of university class outside of class; so based on six hours of class per week, I am looking at 30 hours of homework/study time. (plus the six hours of class brings me to 36 hours at school).

At some point during the week, I must sleep. I know, it’s painful, but I must. So if I’m generous to myself and actually allow eight hours of sleep / night, that means… 56 hours/week used up sleeping.

Okay. 7 days x 24 hours = 168 hours / week.

168 hours – 56 hours sleeping = 112 hours.

112 hours – 50 hours for work = 62 hours.

62 hours – 36 hours for school = 26 hours remaining.

So that means if I am perfectly efficient, I have a total of 26 hours per week free. That doesn’t sound so bad. Thats an entire day. That means that maybe, even if I am un-efficient, I might be able to spend a weekend with friends. Have a social life. Retain my sanity.

… OH. I have a 3 1/2 hour/way drive on Friday, and a 8.5 hour first aid recert with my sister on Saturday, and a 3 1/2 hour return drive Sunday…

(off to crunch some more numbers…)

Well, I think I will keep track of my time… like a time journal. Do you think this is a good idea? Then I can streamline my life for the next few months, determine where I am inefficient, and fix it so that I may maintain some sanity.

So…

Total Time spent per class so far:

English: 10h20

Comm: 3h30

This will be my base, and I will measure time spent on other things from today forward.

… Do you think it will work?

2 Comments »

  1. Err… not possible.

    Unfortunately both of the classes that I am taking are heavy loads – ie/ my English class requires a new novel read every week, and my Commerce class has a 1000 word write-up, plus group work every week. So.. there is no getting around the amount of hours.

    And I don’t talk an hour lunch… I take a half hour lunch – the other stuff is over time so I can take time off for exams and Christmas.

    I’ll make time. Somehow. Maybe. Hell, there’s only 3.5 months left and then I’m DONE FOREVER. 🙂

    Comment by spydermunky — September 14, 2010 @ 10:29 am | Reply

  2. Hells no girl!!! I think that you should only spend 2 hours for every hour that your classes take you and see if you can take half lunches instead of an hour… cuz seriously, an hour for an 8 hour/day job is almost too much… *giggles at person getting towed outside her office window*…

    Where was I? Oh yes. I was NOT ranting about stupid companies…

    But seriously, if you don’t take time for yourself, G-man, family and friends you will not only go insane, you will start to get physically ill which is totally not cool.

    Comment by crowseer — September 14, 2010 @ 9:00 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

