Slapdash

November 5, 2010

Overweight + Deadline = Hungry.

Filed under: The Wedding Files,Weight loss — Chantelle @ 3:50 pm

This week since I have gotten engaged has been very interesting.

First, Gilles didn’t want any of his family to find out until we go down to visit Remembrance Day weekend. Of course, being over-excited and not cluing in, I told my family and just told them not to tell his family about it yet. His mom found out from my second-cousin’s sister-in-law last night. (Like I could have predicted that one though!) Gilles was upset at first, but calmed down quickly. I think it helped that I was hosting a ‘dinner party’ last night. My brother and two cousins came over for roast beef, corn, mashed potatoes, and apple pie.

God. My stomach is churning just reading that.

One of the first things that struck me once I finally clued in that, ‘yes, we are engaged’ and ‘yes, we are getting married this summer’, was that I need to lose a lot of weight in a hurry. My running joke right now is that when most women are pregnant they gain approximately 30 lbs in 9 months – meanwhile I have 9 months to lose 30 lbs.

Thing is, even though I’ve been fighting to lose weight for a long time, I know that I can do it. This is no longer a vague goal amount set for a vague point in the future. It is quite simple, and wonderful. My goal is this. On my wedding day, I want to weigh 150 lbs. Unfortunately due to a couple innings with ribs, chinese food and pizza, I am back at 188.2 lbs currently, so I have a ways to go. However, when I put things into perspective it isn’t so daunting. I am starting at just under 190 lbs (actually I was at 190 lbs the day he asked, and have already been dieting for a week bringing me to 188.2 lbs.). However, a year ago I weighed 203 lbs. And I made it down to 175 lbs this summer despite some lax motivation. So I know I can do it.

I’m not into any of those fad diets. I’m not going to suddenly cut all carbs out of my diet, or eat only cabbage soup for a month. I want to do something that has a chance of lasting for 9 months, and maybe even past. (I say maybe, but what I mean is I really really want it to but realistically I know I’ll gain some back.)

So, I fall back to my old standby – calorie counting. The concept is simple. The average woman burns approximately 1900 calories in a day, just by doing day-to-day activities. (ie/ she would burn more if she went to the gym). Thus, if you burn more calories than you consume, your body is forced to metabolize fat for energy and thus you lose weight.

Therefore, I am restricting myself to a maximum of 1500 calories per day. What does that mean for my body?

Well I certainly won’t hurt myself. In fact, I’m eating much better than I had been as of late. I am drinking lots of water and drinking green tea to try to satiate my stomach, which still hasn’t quite grasped the concept that it won’t be recieving an entire spinach pizza for supper. My stomach will slowly shrink, (the liquids won’t keep it from shrinking as they will be quickly digested), and I will no longer feel as hungry. In fact, I will be eating what I should be eating.

So basically, my diet plan = be healthy.

Of course, there are some catches in this plan. The first catch is that we have a box of Halloween candy sitting in the front entrance still that is begging for my attention. This results in a couple snacks a day. Of course, I am marking these snacks down and accounting for them now, unlike when I wasn’t very motivated. But when you snack on high-calorie foods, it means you can eat less later in the day. (What’s that? A bite-size kit kat bar has the same number of calories as an entire can of chicken noodle soup? But it looks so tasty…)

There are also some times that you really can’t get around eating the not-so-healthy foods. For instance, I had been promising my brother a roast with mashed potatoes and gravy for months, so I couldn’t exactly swap out the meal plan for fish and roasted peppers. And I couldn’t exactly eat something different than my guests. So… (Oh, hi sixty calorie can of soup!) I skipped breakfast, had exactly one can of soup for lunch (with two cans of water added to make it actually sort of fill me up), and ate nothing else until supper.

Fortunately I can finally go grocery shopping tonight, which will result in a very full vegetable drawer. (Vegetables are mostly water – the calories come from the natural sugar – very healthy, and you can eat almost as much as you want of them.)

Unfortunately, I still haven’t found time in my life to get much exercise. When I get home I am making supper, cleaning, and working on homework. If I have any free time, typically I want to spend it with Gilles or out with friends. I do have a few work-out videos as well as a Wii Fit however. So, my thought is that if I can get in even 30 minutes of uninteruppted exercise per day in my own living room, I will be fine. As of 10PM on December 7 I will be done school, thus possibly giving me enough time to warrant getting a gym membership again.

I can do this. I just have to believe I can. And friends? I am going to need your help.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

